Tiger Woods May be Disqualified from Masters
One of the most unlucky events I have ever witnessed, may cost Tiger Woods even more.
On the 15th hole of the Masters on Friday, Tiger hit his tee shot into the wooded area on the right side of the fairway. He was forced to lay-up. His third shot was over water. He hit it perfectly and on one bounce it hit the flag pole. It caromed off and into the water. He took a drop and this time the ball landed within three feet of the cup.
The rules committee had to decide if his drop was in violation of rule 26.1 which states the ball must be dropped as closely as possible to the original spot. Woods had moved back a few yards to relieve himself from a wet area. If they found he dropped the ball illegally, he would be penalized another stroke, and could be disqualified for signing an incorrect score card.
A rule change last year stipulated that if a player signs an incorrect score card unknowingly, not with intention, he will not be disqualified.
That became the decision this morning. Tiger is now 5 strokes off the lead of Jason Day at 1 under par.
Golf purists are urging Tiger to disqualify himself because he intentionally moved the spot of the drop.
Do I think it will happen? Probably not, television ratings would suffer greatly.
Whatever happens, the entire situation is unfortunate. In one sense he is being penalized for extremely bad luck, and on the other extreme, he is a veteran golfer well aware of the rules. And if he plays, will this event affect his mental process? Golf is still a game, and games require full mental concentration to win.
Tiger is scheduled to tee off at 1:45 eastern time.
Columnist-The Guardian Express