SB303 was approved late Monday on a 30-9 vote and now heads to Republican Governor Brian Sandoval, who is expected to sign it.
Supporters of the bill claim that Nevada’s roads will be safer, and requiring new drivers with legal status to purchase insurance will lower costs for all of the state’s residents.
Nevada’s law is modeled after a Utah law passed in 2009:
A person who would need to obtain a Utah Driving Privilege Card (DPC) would be:
Individuals who are unable to establish legal/lawful presence and who are ineligible for a US Social Security Number. They must obtain an Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN) from the Internal Revenue Service. Their DPC would expire on their birth date in the first year from the date the card was issued or renewed.
Individuals meeting these requirements would not be eligible to obtain a Commercial Driver License or Identification Card.
Requirements to be eligible for a DPC are:
You have to reside in Utah for a period of six months or more;
Cannot be temporarily assigned to Utah by an employer, religious organization, or government agency;
You are required to obtain a Utah learner permit or DPC in order to legally drive while here in Utah. The valid DPC allows the holder to operate a motor vehicle in Utah, but may not be used as a means of identification by any Utah government entities;
Documents required to obtain a DPC are:
Evidence of a driving privilege issued in another state or country or evidence of completion of a course in driver training;
2 proofs of Utah residency;
Evidence of social security number or Individual Tax Identification Number (ITIN);
Evidence of Identity;
Completed fingerprint card and photograph from local agency;
Completion of required written knowledge/skills tests
NOTE: Under Utah law, the individual driver is responsible to refrain from driving if there is any uncertainty about his/her physical mental or emotional status which may affect driving safety. If the condition persists, he/she is responsible for reporting it to the Driver License Division. And for security purposes, in establishing a driver license record, it is essential that information is accurate. The Driver License Division will therefore require original certified documents for an original application. When applying for a Utah driver license, your privilege to drive cannot be suspended, revoked, disqualified, or denied in another state or country.
Nevada will join four other states who have allowed driving privileges to non-citizens; Utah, New Mexico, Illinois and Washington.
It will cost the state about $1.6 million to design and implement the new cards, Bobzien said. Supporters said the state will get back those costs and then some through fees charged to take driving tests and renew the cards.
Senate Majority Leader Mo Denis, D-Las Vegas, estimated that the privilege cards would bring in about $2 million by 2015.
The Guardian Express