Peyton Manning Wins Fifth MVP


The Denver Broncos’ quarterback Peyton Manning has won his fifth NFL Most Valuable Player award (MVP), for the 2013 NFL season. The Associated Press MVP award was given out Saturday night in New York, among other awards, such as offensive rookie of the year and this year’s Hall of Fame inductions. Manning is the only player to have won more than 3 MVP awards; last night compiling 49 out of the 50 possible votes. The voters are composed of a league-wide board of media affiliates who extensively covered the league all year. Tom Brady, the New England Patriots’ quarterback, was the lone vote getter.

Denver’s record-breaking quarterback merited his award by leading his Broncos to the best AFC record by throwing 55 touchdowns and 5,477 total passing yards. Manning was reported to have been humbled by the experience, thanking his family, John Elway, his coach John Fox, his teammates, and the entire Broncos organization. Manning, in preparation for today’s Super Bowl against the Seattle Seahawks, was unable to attend the award ceremony in person. He made a short but sweet video, and sent his father Archie and son Marshall on his behalf. Archie and Marshall were presented the trophy from Hall of Famers and MVP award winners, Joe Montana and Aaron Rogers.

Manning won all four of his previous MVPs with the Indianapolis Colts in the 2003, 2004, 2008, and 2009 seasons. The MVP winner was also named second place in the votes last season, falling behind to running back Adrian Peterson of the Minnesota Vikings. Peyton Manning wins his fifth MVP award en route to the Super Bowl, breaking the touchdown passing record with 55 regular season touchdown passes.

Manning’s 2013 MVP award is his NFL-record fifth, 2 more than Jim Brown, Johnny Unitas and Brett Favre, each of whom won three MVP awards during their careers in the NFL. Although he leads the NFL in MVP awards, he is still behind several other Hall of Famers for total MVPs in their respective American sports. Kareem Abdul-Jabbar compiled six MVPs for his basketball greatness, Barry Bonds won seven in baseball, and Wayne Gretzky holds a staggering nine  NHL MVP awards.

Manning appropriately took home the Associated Press Offensive Player of the Year award for the second time in his career. John Elway was sent to accept the honor on his behalf, another award he lost last year to running back Adrian Peterson. Elway revered number 18 in his on-behalf-of Manning acceptance speech, admitting that he could say truthfully, he had never seen a quarterback play a better year than Manning and that what he did was truly amazing.

Peyton Manning has won his fifth MVP award for the 2013 season. In 2011, he beat out New Orleans Saints’ quarterback Drew Brees, who rallied 5,476 yards, just one yard less than Manning. The Broncos broke the league’s point record of 589, by compiling 603 points, surpassing New England Patriots’ quarterback Tom Brady, who compiled the former record total in their 18-1 season six years earlier. With his recent accolades, record breaking season, and most importantly, recently getting his team to the Super Bowl, the 98 percent unanimous vote for MVP is undeniably warranted for the long time pro, who is arguably the greatest leader to have ever played the game.

Editorial By Zane Foley





You must be logged in to post a comment Login