iHeartRadio Music 2nd Annual Awards Show This Sunday


The iHeartRadio Music 2nd Annual Awards show this coming Sunday will be an unforgettable event, which will feature a wide array of known, as well as unknown artists. Scheduled to he held in Los Angeles at Shrine Auditorium, it promises to be a convergence of artists and voices from all different genres, including country, pop, hip-hop and indie. Adding to the excitement will be Grammy and Academy Award winner Jamie Foxx, who will be hosting this event.

Sunday night’s iHeartRadio 2nd Annual Awards Show will feature many of the well-known greats, including Madonna, Beyonce, and Rhianna who won last year’s Artist of the Year Award. This year’s event will feature some more tough competition, with Iggy Azalea and Sam Smith receiving early nominations for five awards, including Artist of the Year, and Ariana Grande and Taylor Swift trailing behind them with four. In addition to last year’s categories of Song of the Year and Artist of the Year, this iHeartRadio event will feature some exciting new ones, like the Jeep-sponsored “Renegade Award,” which recognizes new groundbreaking emerging artists. In addition, some planners are saying that audiences will be treated to some never-seen collaborations and duets. Here is a list of the iHeartRadio Award nominees by category.

Artist of the Year
Iggy Azalea
Luke Bryan
Ariana Grande
Sam Smith
Taylor Swift

Song of the Year
All About That Bass by Meghan Trainor
All of Me by John Legend
Happy by Pharrell Williams
Shake It Off by Taylor Swift
Stay With Me by Sam Smith

Best Collaboration
Bang Bang by Jessie J, Ariana Grande and Nicki Minaj
Dark Horse by Katy Perry with Juicy J
Fancy by Iggy Azalea with Charli XCX
Problem by Ariana Grande with Iggy Azalea
Talk Dirty by Jason Derulo with 2 Chainz

Best New Artist
Iggy Azalea
Sam Smith
Cole Swindell
Meghan Trainor

Country Song of the Year
Burnin’ It Down by Jason Aldean
Bartender by Lady Antebellum
Dirt by Florida Georgia Line
Give Me Back My Hometown by Eric Church
Play It Again by Luke Bryan

Hip Hop/R&B Song of the Year
Don’t Tell ‘Em by Jeremih featuring YG
Drunk in Love by Beyoncé featuring Jay Z
Flawless by Beyoncé
Loyal by Chris Brown featuring Lil Wayne and Tyga
New Flame by Chris Brown featuring Usher and Rick Ross

Dance Song of the Year
Animals by Martin Garrix
Blame by Calvin Harris featuring John Newman
La La La by Naughty Boy featuring Sam Smith
Summer by Calvin Harris
Waves by Mr. Probz

Alternative Rock Song of the Year
Come With Me Now by KONGOS
Do I Wanna Know? by Arctic Monkeys
Fever by The Black Keys
Something From Nothing by Foo Fighters
Take Me to Church by Hozier

Best Lyrics
All of Me by John Legend
Blank Space by Taylor Swift
Counting Stars by OneRepublic
Habits (Stay High) by Tove Lo
Stay With Me by Sam Smith
Thinking Out Loud by Ed Sheeran

Best Fan Army
Arianators – Ariana Grande
Bey Hive – Beyoncé
Church Choir – Eric Church
Directioners – One Direction
5SOSFAM – 5 Seconds of Summer
Mendes Army – Shawn Mendes
Team Breezy – Chris Brown
Selenators – Selena Gomez
Sheerios – Ed Sheeran
Swifties – Taylor Swift

Iggy Azalea
Charli XCX
Brantley Gilbert
Meghan Trainor

Last year’s 2014 iHeartRadio Awards Show proved to be very successful generating over 5 million viewers. The 2nd Annual iHeartRadio Awards Show this coming Sunday promises to be equally if not more exciting as people are waiting to hear who will deliver performances at the show. Stay tuned.

By Bill Ades

NBC Washington
Photo by giovanni – Flickr License

You must be logged in to post a comment Login