Introducing the Supervillains of ‘Suicide Squad’

Suicide Squad

According to Comic Book Resources (CBR), “Suicide Squad,” written and directed by David Ayer, will be opening on August 5, 2016. “Suicide Squad” is part of DC Comic Book’s extended universe, where justice has a bad side. The movie has a dynamic cast, which includes Will Smith, Jared Leto, and Margot Robbie, to name a few.

On July 23, the “Suicide Squad” cast was at Comic-Con, in San Diego, California, in Hall H. During Comic-Con, the fans were treated to a plethora of squad trailers. Warner Bros. also released the trailer for the first “Justice League” movie.

As reported by Digital Spy, the supervillains’ movie trailers are known for their music, as in, they are considered to be excellent. Artists performing in the movie soundtrack include, but are not limited to, Whiz Khalifa, Rick Ross, Twenty-One Pilots, and Lil’ Wayne.

Introducing the Supervillains of  ‘Suicide Squad’

“Suicide Squad” is considered to be a long running classic of the DC Comic Book series that has gone through different redundancies throughout the decades. With the crew headed to the movies, how about introducing them?

The “Suicide Squad,” also known by their original name, “Task Force X.” Their role in modern DC Comics is as a group of supervillains who work for the U.S. Government as special agents. The supervillain crew is sent on exceptionally dangerous missions in hopes of reducing their prison sentences. To make sure that all of the squad will cooperate, explosive bracelets were fitted on each of them, so that if any one of the team members attempts to escape, they will be killed.

  • Introducing the squad to fans everywhere happened in 1959, with issue #25, “The Brave and the Bold.” The comic was written and drawn by the team creators, Robert Kaningher and Ross Andru. In the Suicide Squad’s first introduction, they showed up as a team of adventurers who were sent on missions that would guarantee their untimely deaths. In most cases, they would find themselves fighting against huge monsters.
  • In the original squad, the characters included Dr. Hugh Evans, Rick Flag Jr., Jess Bright, and Karin Grace (Flag’s girlfriend). The members of the Suicide Squad joined because somehow they managed to survive their missions, while everyone else around them died.
  • John Ostrander, in 1987, resurrected the squad in issue #3, in “Legends.” Ostrander found his inspiration in “The Dirty Dozen” and “Mission: Impossible,” as he steered the comic into a different direction, in concept.
  • He also created a new character named Amanda “The Wall” Waller as the government official in charge of the Suicide Squad. The squad members during this period were Blockbuster, Enchantress, Deadshot, Tiger, Captain Boomerang, and Bronze.
  •  In 2001, Keith Griffen made major changes to the DC Comic when he established Sgt. Rock as the one who formed the squad, under President Lex Luther, and Amanda Waller, who gave the team missions.
  • Writer and artist team Sean Ryan and Jeremy Roberts, recently relaunched the comic, adding to their roster of supervillains Harley Quinn, Deathstroke, Black Manta, and Duella Dent (Joker’s Daughter).

The Suicide Squad has been on television several times since its inception, making their appearances in the “Justice League Unlimited,” “Arrow,” and “Smallville.” Introducing such a vast array of unlimited and colorful characters, maybe the supervillains will show up in even stickier situations the next time around.

Opinion News by Tracy Blake
Edited by Jeanette Smith


Digital Spy: Suicide Squad shows off even more new footage at Comic-Con
IMDB: Suicide Squad
Watch Mojo: Superhero Origins: The Suicide Squad

Image Courtesy of Hina Ichigo’s Flickr Page – Creative Commons License

You must be logged in to post a comment Login