Premier League Season Started With Leicester Defeat

Premier League

On August 13, the 2016-17 Premier League season started with Leicester’s defeat. The current champion lost in the first game of the season to Hull (2-1). One of the three teams who just re-entered the competition after participating in the English Football League Championship.

The loss was predicted by former British players who declared that Leicester will not be able to retain their title because there were six other teams favored to win the Premier League trophy. According to BBC, the most powerful teams in the competition are Manchester United, Chelsea, Tottenham, Arsenal, Liverpool and Manchester City.

The fact that five of the best international coaches will be opponents in Premier League sustains the statement of the British journalists. In the 2016-17 Premier League season, which started with Leicester’s defeat, Josep Guardiola will coach Manchester City, Antonio Conte will manage Chelsea, and Jurgen Klopp will continue at Liverpool. Also, Arsene Wegner will remain as the coach of Arsenal, while Jose Mourinho will start at Manchester United.

The managers are the elite of international coaches and have obtained, throughout their careers, numerous trophies. So, the competition will be harsh in England as every manager has something to prove.

History of the Competition

This is the 25th season for the Premier League since its formation in 1992. It is the country’s primary soccer tournament, found at the top of the English football league system, in which 20 teams compete every season.

Since 1992, 47 clubs have played in Premier League, but only six have won the trophy. Manchester United is the team who secured the most awards, 13. The others are:

  • Chelsea, four trophies
  • Arsenal, three trophies
  • Manchester City, two trophies
  • Blackburn Rovers, one trophy
  • Leicester, one trophy

Besides the trophy awarded to the best team of the season, there are monthly rewards for the best manager and player, as well as annual awards such as Manager of the Season, Player of the Season, Golden Boot and Golden Glove.

As of this report, Alex Ferguson, the former manager of Manchester United, won the most Manager of the Season titles, 11. In the matter of footballers, Cristiano Ronaldo, Thierry Henry, and Nemanja Vidic won the most Player of the Season awards, 2. Henry also obtained the most Golden Boot awards, 4, while Joe Hart and Petr Cech are the goalkeepers who have 4 Golden Gloves trophies.

The 2016-17 Season

The current season started on Aug. 13, 2016, with Leicester’s defeat. 20 teams will compete for the trophy, awarded in May 2017. The six favorites will engage into exciting games, that the British refer to as Derby. Some of the most important matches of the season are:

Premier League

  • Arsenal vs. Liverpool, on Aug. 14, 2016, and March 4, 2017.
  • Manchester United vs. Manchester City, on Sept. 10, 2016, and Feb. 25, 2017.
  • Chelsea vs. Liverpool, on Sept. 16, 2016, and Feb. 1, 2017.
  • Arsenal vs. Chelsea, on Sept. 24, 2016, and Feb. 4, 2017.
  • Liverpool vs. Manchester United, on Oct. 17, 2016, and Jan. 14, 2017.
  • Chelsea vs. Manchester United, on Oct. 22, 2016, and April 15, 2017.
  • Manchester United vs. Arsenal, on Nov. 19, 2016, and May 6, 2017.
  • Manchester City vs. Chelsea, on Dec. 3, 2016, and April 5, 2017.
  • Manchester City vs. Arsenal, on Dec. 17, 2016, and April 1, 2017.
  • Liverpool vs. Manchester City, on Dec. 31, 2016, and March 18, 2017.

The teams engaged in the 25th Premier League season will compete for the next ten months. After playing 38 games each, the British soccer league will have a champion, which will receive the trophy and gain a place in the best European competition, UEFA Champions League.

By Bianca-Ramona Dumitru
Edited by Cathy Milne


BBC: Six teams can win the Premier League but I back Man City – Alan Shearer
Premier League: Fixtures
Premier League: History
The Wall Street Journal: It’s the Year of the Super Manager in the Premier League

Featured and Top Image Courtesy of Matthew Wilkinson’s Flickr Page – Creative Commons License
Inline Image Courtesy of Crystian Cruz’s Flickr Page – Creative Commons License

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.