USA Team Won the First Matches of the Ryder Cup


Ryder Cup

On Sept. 30, 2016, the golf teams of the United States and Europe confronted on the first day of the Ryder Cup. The American crew won against Europe, the defending champion. The score was 5-3.

The first day of the Ryder Cup consisted of four alternate-shot matches and four better-ball games. It engaged 16 players.

USA Team

  • Jordan Spieth and Patrick Reed
  • Phil Mickelson and Rickie Fowler
  • Jimmy Walker and Zach Johnson
  • Dustin Johnson and Matt Kuchar

Europe Team

  • Justin Rose and Henrik Stenson
  • Rory McIlroy and Andy Sullivan
  • Sergio Garcia and Martie Kaymer
  • Thomas Pieters and Lee Westwood

The second day of competition will consist of the same matches. However, the last day of the Ryder Cup will consist of 12 singles matches. The last tournament will take place on October 2.

2016 Ryder Cup

The 2016 Ryder Cup is the 41st biennial event that engages golf teams from America and Europe. The first tournament took place in 1927.

The team of Europe is the defending champion. They won the 2014 event, held at the Gleneagles Hotel, in Scotland. Moreover, it was the third consecutive victory for the Europeans.

The 2016 golf tournament takes place between September 30 and October 2, at the Hazeltine National Golf Club, in Chaska, Minn.

Written by Bianca-Ramona Dumitru
Edited by Jeanette Smith


Sky Sports: Ryder Cup beginner’s guide
The Telegraph: Ryder Cup 2016 foursomes live: Europe and America each leading two foursome matches at Hazeltine

Image Courtesy of Omar Rawlings’ Flickr Page – Creative Commons License