Group of 8 to Exclude Russia

The allied leaders of the largest economies in the West, along with American President Barack Obama, agreed today to exclude Russian President Putin from the Group of 8. This temporarily ends Russia’s involvement in 15 years of this forum that has promoted diplomacy between the countries.

After a small, private meeting which lasted several hours, the leaders of the now Group of 7 (France, West Germany, Italy, England, Japan, Canada and the United States) announced that the summit meeting planned for Sochi in June will be relocated to Brussels, and that Russia will not be allowed to participate.

The statement focused on the fact that the countries came together because of shared beliefs and responsibilities, and further went on to state that Russia’s actions lately are not in keeping with these beliefs.

By Julie Mahfood

Follow Julie Mahfood on Twitter @JulieWrites2


New York Times

One Response to "Group of 8 to Exclude Russia"