NCAA Allows Power 5 Conferences to Dictate Own Rules


The NCAA has decided that the 5 power conferences (Big 10, Big 12, SEC, ACC and PAC 12) will now be able to dictate their own rules and how they run their conferences. This means that the NCAA will allow the 65 schools that make up these conferences to police themselves and vote within themselves on how they handle issues like paying players, recruiting rules, and insurance benefits for both players and staff.

This is a major step for the NCAA, who have faced major backlash in recent years for how they have conducted their punishments and how inflexible they have been in adapting to a changing college sports landscape. This new system would be made up of an 80-person board of representatives from the five major conferences and would also have the ability to vote on larger NCAA issues. This new system will not be implemented until October 1 and anything decided by this board would not go into effect until 2015.

The 75 schools that make up the rest of Division 1 football still have a chance to over rule this new proposed system and, if they do, the decision will be sent back to the NCAA for further discussions.

Commentary by Max Petkevicius

Washington Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.