USA Won the 2016 Ryder Cup


Ryder Cup

On Oct. 2, 2016, the team of the United States won the Ryder Cup. The crew defeated Europe at the Hazeltine National Golf Club, in Chaska, Minn. The final score was 17-11.

As of this result, the USA players obtained the team’s first victory since 2008. They interrupted Europe’s series of consecutive successes. Captain Darren Clarke’s crew missed the chance to secure its fourth win in a row.

The Americans gained the advantage on the first day of the 2016 Ryder Cup. Among the eight matches of the day, they won 5-3. Four of the competitions were alternate-shot games and four were better-ball races. In the second day of the competition, the crew captained by Davis Love III secured four of the eight possible victories. Another match ended with a draw.

Moreover, on the third day of the Ryder Cup, the USA team obtained seven victories of the 12 possible, while another game ended with a draw. Therefore, with 16 successes and two draws, the United States team accumulated 17 of the 28 total points. So, they gained the first trophy since 2008.

Team Europe

According to CBS Sports, Europe had six rookies on the team. This fact might have been a disadvantage for the crew.

  • Darren Clarke (captain)
  • Thomas Bjorn (vice-captain)
  • Padraig Harrington (vice-captain)
  • Paul Lawrie (vice-captain)
  • Ian Poulter (vice-captain)
  • Sam Torrance (vice-captain)
  • Rory McIlroy
  • Danny Willett
  • Henrik Stenson
  • Chris Wood
  • Sergio Garcia
  • Rafael Cabrera-Bello
  • Justin Rose
  • Andy Sullivan
  • Matthew Fitzpatrick
  • Lee Westwood
  • Martin Kaymer
  • Thomas Pieters

Team USA

On the other hand, the American team had the advantage, as CBS stated, to have Tiger Woods as vice-captain. Also, only one player was a rookie.

  • Davis Love III (captain)
  • Tom Lehman (vice-captain)
  • Jim Furyk (vice-captain)
  • Steve Stricker (vice-captain)
  • Tiger Woods (vice-captain)
  • Bubba Watson (vice-captain)
  • Dustin Johnson
  • Jordan Spieth
  • Phil Mickelson
  • Patrick Reed
  • Jimmy Walker
  • Brooks Koepka
  • Brandt Snedeker
  • Zach Johnson
  • B. Holmes
  • Rickie Fowler
  • Matt Kuchar
  • Ryan Moore

According to the official Ryder Cup website, one of the best matches of the 2016 tournament was the confrontation between Garcia and Mickelson. It is included on the list of greatest games, along with:

  • Jacklin vs. Nicklaus, in 1969, at the Royal Birkdale Golf Club, England.
  • Faldo vs. Strange, in 1995, at the Oak Hill Country Club, N.Y.
  • Mickelson vs. Rose, in 2012, at the Medinah Country Club, Ill.

2018 Ryder Cup

The 2016 Ryder Cup was the 41st biennial golf event. The first competition took place in 1927, at the Worcester Country Club, in Massachusetts. It engages two teams: one of golfers from the United States, and the other comprised of European players.

The next tournament will be held in 2018. The 42nd event will take place at the Albatros Course of Le Golf National, in Ile-de-France, between September 28 and 30.

By Bianca-Ramona Dumitru
Edited by Jeanette Smith


ABC News: Column: Plenty for Mickelson to Celebrate in Ryder Cup Win
BBC: Ryder Cup 2016: United States beat Europe 17-11 to regain trophy at Hazeltine
CBS Sports: Ryder Cup 2016: 10 storylines to watch ahead of a wild week at Hazeltine
THE AGE: US win 2016 Ryder Cup, ending streak of three consecutive defeats to Europe

Image Courtesy of A pie de campo‘s Flickr Page – Creative Commons License